Sherine E. Gabriel, MD, MSc., Dean, Mayo Medical School

  • Professor of Medicine & Professor of Epidemiology

  • William J. and Charles H. Mayo Endowed Professor

  • Past President, American College of Rheumatology

  • Founding Chair, Methodology Committee, Patient Centered Outcomes Research Institute

Dr. Gabriel earned a Doctor of Medicine degree, with distinction, from the University of Saskatchewan, Canada and completed Internal Medicine Residency and Rheumatology fellowship at Mayo Graduate School of Medicine. She then earned a Master of Science in Clinical Epidemiology from McMaster University. Dr. Gabriel is certified by the American Board of Internal Medicine in Internal Medicine and in Rheumatology.


Dr. Gabriel’s research, which is largely NIH funded, has resulted in >250 peer-reviewed, original scientific publications with a recent focus on cardiovascular disease in persons with rheumatoid arthritis [H index = 55]. Dr. Gabriel has received numerous research awards in recognition of these contributions including the Hench Award in Rheumatology, the Mayo Foundation Scholarship, two Clinician Involved in Research Awards and the American College of Rheumatology Henry Kunkel Young Investigator Award. Dr. Gabriel was appointed to the NIAMS Advisory Council in 2012.


Dr. Gabriel has a strong commitment to education for which she has received several honors including the Mayo Clinic Distinguished Educator Award, the Association for Clinical Research Training Distinguished Educator Award, and the McCann Scholar Award for Excellence in Mentoring in Medicine and Science. She developed the Clinical Research Training and Career Development Programs at Mayo Clinic, and served as Co-PI and Director of Education for the NIH-funded CTSA. In her first year as Dean of Mayo Medical School, she launched an ambitious program to re-design the education of future physicians to achieve the triple aim of better care, healthier people, and more affordable care, which received a competitive award from the American Medical Association.


Dr. Gabriel has served on dozens of governmental committees and advisory boards, including chair of FDA Drug Safety & Risk Management Committee. She is now a member of the Board of the Reagan-Udall Foundation for the FDA. She has served on many scientific editorial boards and is co-editor of Kelley’s Textbook of Rheumatology. She has served in many leadership roles in professional societies and was elected President of the American College of Rheumatology in 2008.


Dr. Gabriel has held many leadership positions at Mayo Clinic including: Chair of the Department of Health Sciences Research (>420 professionals in 3 divisions: Epidemiology, Biostatistics & Biomedical InformaticsandHealthcare Policy & Research), member of the Executive Board (14 members overseeing operations of Mayo Clinic in Rochester and the Mayo Health System) and Medical Director, Office for Strategic Alliances & Business Development (responsible for Mayo Clinic strategic business alliances, domestic and international). In recognition of her leadership and management contributions, Dr. Gabriel received the MacMillan Management Scholar Award.


In 2011 Dr. Gabriel was appointed by the U.S. Government Accountability Office as the first Chair of the Methodology Committee of the Patient Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI). PCORI was created by the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act as a non-profit organization to help people make better informed health decisions by funding research that provides high quality evidence about interventions and strategies to prevent, diagnose, treat and monitor health conditions.